Writing Prompt inspired by The Write Practice

Quick 15 minute creative writing based on photo in link below.

http://thewritepractice.com/green-sneakers-writing-prompt/

I ran until I could run no more.  My chest was tight, I could hardly breathe.  The cold air turned my breath in to tiny sharp icicles stinging my narrow throat, sharply twisting their way into my lungs.  I could still hear footsteps in the distance, I was not alone.  No matter how fast or how far I ran, the voices and footsteps would always find me, rattling the frozen cubes of thought in my brain.  No, do not rattle, do not melt, do not let emotion or colour into my heart!  The pain is too great.  I sit in silence, my body growing cold.  I look down at my shoes, my green shoes, and fall into a flood of tears. Glaringly green with great guidance and comfort, my shoes steady me again.

Leave a Reply

