Bloggers Block

Blogging! What was I thinking?
Blogging! Scary!

I created this blog with great intentions of improving upon my writing skills and braving the world of public writing. The only way to learn to fly is to jump, right?

One month later posts are few. My blog haunts me constantly; obtrusively whispering, “I am still here, when will you write again?” To which I offer many replies. For example: Tomorrow I will have more time. Family and work come first. My writings and ideas are not worthy of people’s time. I am not ready. I am not good enough. Blogging is not right for me.

Blog or no blog, only one thing will ever be enough to quiet the persistent whispers thundering daily through my mind incessantly echoing, “Write, please be brave enough to write!”  Obviously, I must simply write and keep on writing!

My blog squeezes immovable crushing pressure on all sides every day. I wonder, when pushed to the point of explosion will bloody juices splatter and dry up in defeat? Or will this steady maceration turn ideas into full-bodied smooth words that will resonate on the minds of others?

“Just write!”, I tell myself again! Writing constantly will slowly melt the fear led freeze, finally letting the rivers run. I know this must be true as I am offered the same advice from trending #writing tips on Twitter. I am not alone. So here I type, thesaurus by my side (shh don’t tell anyone – did Oscar Wilde do the same). Metaphors, similes, interesting vocabulary and personifications are sitting in a nest of inhibition and ignorance, now officially challenged in hopes that one day they will soar.

Courage don’t fail me now. My writing is done for the day; my thoughts bravely shared, interesting or not!  Help me to hit “post”. I tell myself, “Remember, you are not alone. What is the worst that can happen?”  Doubt is creeping in,  “Maybe I should have a pen name instead….”  No, here it goes….Jump!

2 thoughts on “Bloggers Block

  1. At least for me, a thought pops into my head, I write a short quite know bit, do basic editing, then Publish. The folks out there will offer editorial advice… Thinking is less useful than experience, which only comes with doing. Less perfection, more trial efforts!

    Like

Leave a Reply

